The Up-Goer Five Challenge for Chemists

Once again, SeeArrOh has started a chemblogo/twittersphere storm with the Up-goer Five Challenge for chemists. Using the online text editor,  I had a couple of goes at this, one for twitter on the hashtag #upgoer140, which is my attempt at explaining chromatography in less than 140 characters;

I use a box which takes stuff that was close together and makes them not be near to each other any more #chromatography #upgoer140

 

And then another longer version in which I try to explain my work looking at the thermal degradation of fuels;

I use a box which takes stuff that was close together and makes them not be near to each other any more. Then I can see what each of the things are, when before it was hidden from me.

Usually I use the box for looking at stuff that makes cars and other things like flying and water cars go. When the flying cars are flying, this stuff can get too hot and then new stuff is formed, which can be bad and make the flying cars stop flying.

I use the box to look at the new stuff that is formed when it gets hot to try and find out things about the new stuff. I want to know what it is, where it came from and how to make it stop happening.

 

It’s actually pretty hard, but quite fun too. I recommend giving it a go.

2 Comments on “The Up-Goer Five Challenge for Chemists”

  1. […] hatte eher an Materialprüfung gedacht, aber ein Blick auf ihr Blog hat mich dann aufgeklärt, daß es um Chromatographie […]

  2. […] only the ten-hundred most common words. The challenge was taken up by many people, including chemists, who displayed their efforts on Twitter #upgoerfive, which were collated into a Storify, and a […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,991 other followers