I am not a nerd and I don’t wear a white coat (often)

So, I’m kind of in the market for a new job at the moment. I really like my current job, and the people I work with, and they would like me to stay but nevertheless I have been told they may not be able to keep me on. The situation could change, who knows – but either way, I am scouring Seek for new opportunities.

Which is how I came across following advertisement:

(click to embiggen when the link expires)

I don’t think I’m being overly sensitive in saying I find this incredibly offensive. The ‘white coat’ stereotype is such a cliché and for the most part, totally inaccurate. Anyone qualified for this position (chemistry degree minimum) is fully aware of what scientists aka ‘nerds in white coats’ really do. They have been doing it themselves for at least 3 years.

I think most people in scientific recruitment these days have science degrees. Are they really that smug about their pointless cushy office jobs that they have to refer to the people who they did their degree with who were actually intelligent enough to build themselves a useful career as ‘nerds in white coats’? Really? Or were they just trying to be funny? Because I don’t get the joke. I don’t even know any working scientists who routinely wear a lab coat. Hey, maybe some people become scientists because they LIKE SCIENCE, and couldn’t care less about the novated BMWs, cheap suits and limp handshakes favoured by slimy recruitment consultants.

Screw you Conquest Personnel, and whichever company you’re representing. No chemistry graduate with any self-respect would apply for your ‘nerd in white coat’ position. What a joke, you should be ashamed of yourselves.



Leave a Reply

