George Hrab Hits Melbourne with Styrofoam

On Tuesday November 30th, George Hrab, of the Geologic Podcast and Philadelphia Funk Authority played the Melbourne leg of his Styrofoam tour at the Clyde Hotel in Carlton. I arrived a few minutes after the show was due to start as a result of an extended attempt to find a parking spot (I am not that familiar with the inner North), grabbed myself a soft drink from the bar and got settled seconds before Geo began his performance.

I have listened back to the recording of ‘Far’ a few times now and each time I found myself grinning a dopey dorkfaced grin of reminiscence. Like a puppy looking at a picture of a puppy having puppies… or something.

The overwhelming feeling I got from George’s performance was that he was really enjoying being there and performing in front of the enthusiastic audience. In addition to singing a bunch of his songs, accompanied by acoustic guitar, there was also an ‘Ask George (woof!)’ session, some spoken word and a totally cool iPhone beatbox thingo (you had to be there for that one).

I came away from the night with an ‘I heart Hrab’ badge, and a signed copy of the tour poster. I chose the one on which George had written ‘FIZ!’, which kind of appealed to the chemist in me for some reason…

 

 

It was great to see that a free, fan-organised gig could go off so fabulously well. I must extend heartfelt thanks to George, for making the trip down to Melbourne, and all those who helped to organise the event, in particular Catherine Donaldson and the Young Australian Skeptics.


2 Comments on “George Hrab Hits Melbourne with Styrofoam”

  1. catherineLd says:

    Okay… so three years later to the date I comment… woopsie!

    YAYEEE! It was a great night and made all the better for meeting you Renée and being given delicious baked chemical goods😀 xox


Leave a Reply

