Huzzahs and Ohnoes of the 2014 Royal Australian Chemical Institute Congress

I’m recently returned from the RACI National Congress in Adelaide. I’ve had time to reflect. Herein lies my feels

  • construction noise during the plenaries  OHNOES
  • every. single. plenary. speaker. HUZZAH
  • sessions that ran over time OHNOES
  • sessions that kept to time, or ran early! HUZZAH
  • paying the convention centre $120 to get wifi that actually worked OHNOES
  • well run, quite fun student quiz night HUZZAH
  • being on the first non-podium finishing table at the student quiz night OHNOES
  • Baran’s biceps HUZZAH
  • approaching a prof to talk about my work, he is interested and asks if I have any papers on it. I say no. Realise later that I have two OHNOES
  • meeting and catching up with colleagues and sharing a corporate whinge HUZZAH
  • not even seeing at least 7 people that I wanted to talk to OHNOES
  • accidentally getting in line for coffee next to someone I definitely did not want to talk to OHNOES
  • plenary speakers making themselves available for lunch time Q&A sessions with students HUZZAH
  • not getting much of a dinner at the conference dinner OHNOES
  • getting too much of the champagne at the conference dinner OHNOES
  • watching my boss dance at the conference dinner OHNOES
  • meeting or catching up with all the super cool people who came to the #RACI14 tweetup HUZZAH
  • not punching in the face the obnoxious undergrad who struck up a conversation with me, then insulted my home town, alma mater, employer and research OHNOES
  • the surprisingly useful congress app HUZZAH
  • seeing comic sans in 3 presentations OHNOES
  • delivering a reasonably OK oral presentation HUZZAH
  • learning about super cool new scients HUZZAH
  • meeting a lot of rad scients doers HUZZAH
  • coming home to this cool doge HUZZAH

IMG_5927


One Comment on “Huzzahs and Ohnoes of the 2014 Royal Australian Chemical Institute Congress”

  1. […] follow on from Renée Webster’s example, here is a quick summary of my likes/dislikes of the 2014 RACI National […]


Leave a Reply

